Writing: wrapping scenes up

After my first rounds of feedback and my edit-sessions of the past month I learned something new.

Closing my scenes

I did not close my scenes. For instance, this was the previous closing of chapter 7:

And with this in my pocket, I could start to slow down a bit. I had proven I could do it. I was no longer a junior. I had paid off half of my debts. I no longer had to feel desperate when a month passed by without new work, without a new gig to fulfill. By now I could choose to go anywhere I wanted. I started to get into this incredibly luxurious position where I could start refusing work.

I could start coming back to the world of the living again. Humans. People. Paris. Build a new family. Find new friends, find new lovers. Build a social life. Have fun. Waste time. Return to myself.

What it lacks is an end-point. “Return to myself” is an open end. A soft end. No end at all.

In the part below I “park the car” as I started calling this movement. There is a clear action, a clear moment at the end that wraps it all up.

And with this in my pocket, I could start to slow down a bit. I had proven I could do it. I was no longer a junior. I had paid off half of my debts. I no longer had to feel desperate when a month passed by without new work, without a new gig to fulfill. By now I could choose to go anywhere I wanted. I started to get into this incredibly luxurious position where I could start refusing work.

I could start coming back to the world of the living again. Humans. People. Paris. Build a new family. Find new friends, find new lovers. Build a social life. Have fun. Waste time. Return to myself.

When the door of my apartment closed behind me, it was with a satisfactory click.

This is a simple one. But the feeling is clear. One thing is left behind. The door closes. And something new can begin.

What this does to me as a reader is that it gives me a feeling of resolve and a solid moment to jump to the next scene.

Leave a Reply

